Poor Tourer Blog

Poor Tourer Tips

Late Dalton goal hands 14-man Cork dramatic win over Waterford in Munster U21 semi-final

Erik G

Cork 2-17
Waterford 1-19

A GOAL DEEP in injury-time from a penalty by Declan Dalton handed Cork a dramatic victory over Waterford in the Bord Gáis Energy Munster U21 hurling semi-final tonight.

Cork were reduced to 14 men in injury-time when Darragh Fitzgibbon, who sparkled throughout at midfield, was shown a red card for a pull across goalkeeper Billy Nolan.

That looked to signal their exit at the first hurdle as Waterford were in control of a game where Patrick Curran, Colm Roche and Shane Bennett had all impressed for the home side in Walsh Park.

But Cork mounted one last attack in injury-time and after working the ball downfield, substitute Jack O’Connor was fouled as he rushed towards goal.

Dalton, who finished with 1-12 and displayed superb markmanship all night, held his nerve from the resultant penalty to smash the ball to the net.

Referee Fergal Horgan sounded the final whistle soon after and Cork celebrated another notable victory after the county’s senior and minor teams claimed Munster crowns last Sunday in Thurles.

More to follow…

Scorers for Cork: Declan Dalton 1-12 (0-8f, 0-2 sideline), Robbie O’Flynn 1-0, Darragh Fitzgibbon 0-3, Michael O’Halloran, Paul Leopold 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: Patrick Curran 0-10 (0-7f, 0-1 ’65) Colm Roche 0-5, Shane Bennett 1-1, Cormac Curran 0-2, Jack Prendergast 0-1.


1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Sean O Donoghue (Inniscarra)
3. Eoghan Murphy (Sarsfields)
4. David Griffin (Carrigaline)

5. Billy Hennessy (St Finbarrs)
6. Darren Browne (Kanturk – captain)
7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)

8. Paul Leopold (Sarsfields)
9. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)

10. Chris O’Leary (Valley Rovers)
11. Declan Dalton (Fr O’ Neills)
19. Aaron Myers (Sarsfields)

13. Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own)
14. Shane Kingston (Douglas)
15. Michael O’Halloran (Blackrock)


21. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum) for Myers (29)
16. Eoghan Healy (Ballymartle) for O’Donoghue (half-time)
20. Jack O’Connor (Sarsfields) for Kingston (50)
17. David Lowney (Clonakilty) for O’Leary (54)


1. Billy Nolan (Roanmore)

2. David Prendergast (Lismore)
3. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)
4. Darragh Lyons (Dungarvan)

5. Jordan Henley (Tallow)
6. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside)
7. Callum Lyons (Ballyduff Lower)

8. Andy Molumby (Cappoquin)
9. Colm Roche (Shamrocks)

10. Jack Prendergast (Lismore)
11. Cormac Curran (Brickey Rangers)
12. Shane Ryan (De La Salle – captain)

13. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)
14. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
15. Peter Hogan (Ballygunner)


22. Darragh Lynch (Passage) for Molumby (42)
17. Edmond O’Halloran (Clashmore-Kinsalebeg) for Lyons (42)
18. Andrew Casey (Ballyduff Upper) for Cormac Curran (49)
20. John Paul Lucey (Shamrocks) for Ryan (59)

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)

Follow us: the42.ie

Clare full-back ‘a major doubt’ for All-Ireland quarter-final clash with Tipperary
As It Happened: Waterford v Cork, Munster U21 hurling semi-final

Source: http://prntscr.com/fub00u

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2020 Poor Tourer Blog